What I’m Listening To: January

Music

As a dancer and choreographer, I am always trying to find new music to inspire me. I sort all of this music into over 65 playlists on Spotify and there is a method to my madness. I usually gravitate to acoustic, singer-songwriter, nostalgic songs and have seen this heavily in my playlist for this month. Here’s my favorite from this month’s playlist:

1. Forever Young by Rhiannon Giddens and Iron & Wine

I actually only heard this version last night on the series finale of Parenthood but I am already hooked. You can’t get better than Dylan’s lyrics and these vocalists just make you want to curl up on your couch and watch old home videos.

2. Benediction by Luke Sital Singh

One of the choreographers from my studio is using this song and whenever I watch the dance I’m transported. This song is eerie but so beautiful. It was also on last week’s episode of Parenthood (they seriously always have the best music) and I found myself crying in my living room all alone. Yes, I will admit that.

3. The Blower’s Daughter & Tighten Up by Alice Kristiansen

Kristiansen is a youtube find and I have been singing her covers in the shower ever since I first heard them. The ease in her voice and stylistic choices have made me completely forget about the originals.

Do you have any favorite singer-songwriters? Let me know! I can always use more inspiration 🙂 — J

Leave a Reply

